One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

The campus was vast to say the least.. so many buildings, floors, cells. The entire abandoned portion of the campus would have taken days to explore, but we got to take in quite a bit of it for the 6-7 hours we were there. At times, we got a little too close for comfort to some of the active wards but for the most part, this place was just a lot of vacant awesomeness.

Around every corner there was something new and awesome to be discovered. One of the highlights of the explore is when we entered a ward that contained hundreds of boxes and filing cabinets full of patient records. I seriously could have spent weeks reading through all of them. Definitely some of the most disturbing things that have ever graced my eyes. This one in particular was pretty mild compared to some of the other ones I read, but still pretty crazy non the less.

At a couple points, my friend and I split up and explored different parts of the hospital. There were a few times when I thought I heard her coming up the stairs only to find out that she was nowhere even close to me. The freakiest part was when a couple of her friends came later in the day (unbeknownst to me) and gave me a bit of a surprise. I have to admit, it was a little freaky to see two guys pop out of stairwell on me.. but with a closer look, I quickly recognized one of them from my friends’ facebook page so THAT was a nice moment of relief to say the least. As you can see, this place is pretty spooky looking.. creating the perfect atmosphere for a wandering mind to turn nothing into something.

“Ha! See, more games. Games, they vegitize you. If you play the games, you’re voluntarily taking a tranquilizer…Drugs! What’d they give you? Thorazine? Haldol? How much? Learn your drugs – know your doses. It’s elementary”
– Jeffrey Goines

The fall leaves were peaking pretty hard during my visit. When I entered this particular cell and looked out the window, I tried to imagine what kind of thoughts were going through the patients heads as they gazed past these metal grates into the free world.


About this entry