A Cold Trip Home

In January of 2014 I came home to New Hampshire for a visit with my parents. Needless to say, it was freezing! Truth be told, I didn’t mind it one bit… it beats a muggy 88°F winter day in Florida, thats for sure. I flew in on a Thursday night and woke up to snow flurries on Friday morning. It didn’t take long for me to throw on a jacket, go outside and reunite with my native weather. There is nothing like crisp, cold mountain air. It is one of my absolute favorite things on earth.


Home


We spent most of Friday hitting antique shops and walking around downtown Laconia. There was a lot to see and I could have spent an entire day at just one shop, but there are only so many hours in a day. Even with limited time, I did manage to find some really cool stuff including this antique medical bottle that I later decided to add to the Anomalous Etsy Shop.


In the heart of downtown Laconia, the Colonial Theatre sits vacant. Such a shame. If I wasn’t with my folks, I’m pretty sure I would of found a way to get inside for a closer look, but alas that was not the case. I would slap a baby for that marquee sign though, ugh! Guess this snapshot will have to do for now.


Later on in the day we headed up to the mountains to see some epic ice formations. The way the light was interacting with the ice was really cool. It looked like at any moment, Superman was gonna come crawling out of this cave to escape the glowing, green kryptonite surrounding him.


The next day was not so winter wonderland…ish. Temps climbed upwards of 45°F and instead of snow, we got rain and heavy fog.


On my last day we walked around Manchester and hit some antique shops before I had to catch my flight. It was business as usual on the Merrimack river, as it was flushing out the recent rainfall and melted snow from the North. The park at the foot of the mill yard was desolate, as it often is on cold January days.


About this entry